Main MessageBoard / Music Production & Mixing Techniques /

BlackDaddy
so ive been producing for about 5 years now and finally feel confident to play my music in front of others, so i went out and bought some cdjs.

i produce gabber/hardstyle which is relatively "easy" to mix. i got that down pretty quick.

i tried to test my hand at music thats not based on a simple 4x4 beat, such as dubstep and bmore club. trying to challenge myself. didnt work out too well XD.

so im wondering, when trying to mix two dub or bmore songs, how should i go about this?

i know all about the bpms and everything, but i find it pretty hard to get a dubstep songs bpm without a bpm counter[my setup doesnt have one]. i do it all by ear, so mehh.

any halp?

"2012 - The whole world goes silent after the last rave whistle is blown"
ROBBIE
try to be able to tell if the track in the headphones is going faster or slower than the track playing.  adjust pitch control.  if it doesnt work and you dont think you can correct it, start at the first beat and try again.  do this over and over til you learn to beat match.

CUTUPS
It's hard to say without hearing exactly what is going wrong for you.
It may just come down to having an ear of familiarity with the music.

Syncopated music is still based on 4/4 time signatures, so it shouldn't be that different.  However, it is a bit more apparent when you've got your phrasing off when playing syncopated styles compared to something with a bassdrum on every beat, like gabber.   Make sure you've got the concept of where each measure starts down pat.

One "trick" i used in the past is to just imagine a kick drum on every beat in a syncopated style, then just beatmatch the incoming tune to that.

SHOWS >> 1.20 BASS THERAPY w/ Cutups, Keeb$ + @ Levels Southside | 1.27 MUSTARD PIMP @ Altar Bar | 2.2 LAZERCRUNK w/ Thunder St. Clair & Tracksploitation @ Brillobox | 2.4 ILLUSIONS w/ Mascara & Rivka @ Cattivo
Tangent