Main MessageBoard / Music Production & Mixing Techniques /

puppetslave
I will try to make this as simple as possible, but I'm a little confused here and seeing as I'm just starting out with my understanding of audio and DJ setups, I'm hoping I can get a little help from the community.

I have recently learned about scratch discs, emulation software, etc. and have pretty much decided this is the route I want to take as far as purchasing my equipment. I'm a little tied up with the audio interface part. For example, I understand that the audio interface can be used for both recording mixes and translating the time-coded vinyls to digital format, but I'm not confident on the setup process. I guess my questions for any helpful and experienced DJs reading this are,

1- Can you use any brand audio interface device with any software to play off vinyl? (example: I know the SL1 or SL3 was designed to use with Serato Scratch, but can you replace those with something cheaper and still make it work?)

2- Can I get some recommendations for some good audio interfaces I can look into that aren't TOO good, so I can hopefully buy one without spending a fortune?
Anyone willing to post their experiences would be really appreciated.
Thanks everyone.