Main MessageBoard / Music Production & Mixing Techniques /

1 2
MEZZANINE
Using Ableton Live - Suite 8. Trying to see what I can do with it, spend more of my spare time doing something productive.

What plugins would you strongly recommend? I am a beginner, so please keep this in mind. Also, any general advice would help as well!

rukkus
play with the tutorials! They helped me a lot.

Gunther
Skip Ableton and go for Cubase 5. Unless of course you are going to use Ableton to play sets. (which you can do with your 1000's if you are using a pioneer 800 mixer). I cant stress enough how awesome cubase is though.

As for VST's check out this site. http://www.kvraudio.com. There are tons of free VST's a some trials, too. The great part is there are tons of reviews from pros and consumers.

For the type of music that you play, Paul. I'd look into battery 3 and maybe even Nexus. I have a ton if you want to test drive a few.

MEZZANINE
Why do you like Cubase?

doog
Premium Member
Ableton is great if you use use midi controllers to produce your shit as opposed to clicking and dragging.  I love the drumrack, and how it has 3 browsers that you can quickly switch between (1, 2, 3) when grabbing samples.  I also like it's time stretching algorithm, which can be done in real time and recorded, something I haven't yet been able to do in Logic (which is based off of Cubase).

Logic and Cubase (IMO) are best for actually recording samples and doing editing on samples, whereas Ableton is super smooth for arrangements.  It automatically time stretches your samples to fit your bpm, and you can click in time to set your bpm.

I would mess around with Simpler and Sampler, and check out some of the instruments that come with it.

The workflow is a bit different from other programs and takes some getting used to.  It really depends how you approach writing whether or not it's the best for you.

Fun tip:
highlight what you want to repeat, Control+D to duplicate. It doesn't get easier.